Finding a Voice: a multi-arts concert

by madolu on January 9, 2010

Truth

“This will be our reply to violence: to make music more intensely, more beautifully, more devotedly than ever before”
– Leonard Bernstein

How many times can you say that a concert has changed your life??What about the life of one of your neighbors?

What if your presence at a concert could help break the silence surrounding family violence?would you attend?

24 singers.?a dancer.?visual artists.
writers and actors, too.

Come join with us in our first concert-for-a-cause
To support, honor and benefit
The Shelter for Abused Women & Children

January 31, 2010? -? 4pm
Moorings Presbyterian Church – Naples, FL (Click here for a map
)

Tickets: $15 general admission; $30 patron seating; $5 student
100% of ticket price benefits The Shelter for Abused Women & Children
Purchase tickets online or at the door.?Click here to purchase tickets online.

Below is a sample of each score featured in the “Finding a Voice” concert.

Beauty of Your Dreams – Joan Szymko Beauty of Your Dreams

Motherless Child – arr., Fenno Heath Motherless Child

Run – Nitanju Cassel Run

Emma – arr., J. David Moore?Emma

The Road Home – Stephen Paulus Road Home

Inscription of Hope – Z. Randall Stroope ?Inscription of Hope

Lo, How a Rose / The Rose – arr., Craig Hella Johnson Lo, How a Rose/The Rose

Learn to Love Yourself – Amy Sky and Olivia Newton-John Learn to Love Yourself

Wanting Memories – Ysaye Barnwell Wanting Memories

Still I Rise – Rosephanye Powell Still I Rise

Draw the Circle Wide – Mark A. Miller Draw the Circle Wide

Concert Sponsors and Artists

Business

Absync Realty -?www.absyncrealty.com
Blue Turtle Graphics / Kim Smith ??www.BlueTurtleGraphics.net
Photographic Images by Jim ??www.photographicimagesbyjim.com
TecSmarts, LLC LLC – On-Site and Remote Computer Repair ??www.TecSmarts.com
Kathy & Bill Hughes, Residential Sales and Rentals, Downing-Frye Realty, Inc. -?www.downingfrye.com
Gulf Coast Paralegal Association, Inc. -??www.gcpa.info

Musical

J. David Moore ? composer ??www.freshayremusic.com
Stephen Paulus ? composer -?www.stephenpaulus.com
Joan Szymko ? composer ??www.JoanSzymko.com
Fred Bock Music Publishers ??www.fredbock.com
Santa Barbara Music Publishing ??www.sbmp.com
Rebecca Richardson ? jazz -?www.naplesjazz.com
Island Dance Academy ? 239-289-1698
Janina Birtolo ? actor, writer ??www.janinabirtolo.com
Diana Giorge ? voiceovers ??www.dianagiorge.com

Photo credits

Jen Gray (Chicago) ??www.jengray.com
Chris Griffith (Bonita Springs, FL) ??www.LifeInBonitaSprings.com
Sandra Milliken (Australia) ??www.sandramilliken.com.au
Emmanuelle Brisson (France) ??www.emmanuellebrisson.com
An anonymous Survivor (Naples, FL)
The National Network to End Domestic Violence ??www.nnedv.org

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: